Monday, 31 October 2016

Blog Tour ~ Guest Post | Search For A Silver Lining ~ Miranda Dickinson

Today I'm delighted to be taking part with the blog tour for the lovely Miranda Dickinson as we celebrate her new novel, Search For A Silver Lining.

If you follow Miranda on social media you will know that she wanted her blog tour to be fun and interesting, with a collection of posts she has exclusively written linking to the book as opposed to the usual tours full of review.

So without further ado, I'm handing over to Miranda to share her Silver Linings...

It began with a promise . . . 

Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . . 

When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.

Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining will take you on a trip you'll never forget.

Search for a Silver Lining
Miranda Dickinson
October 2016
Pan McMillan

My Silver Lining
The key theme in my eighth novel, Searching for a Silver Lining, is the power of second chances. As a confirmed optimist, I have always believed in looking for good in bad situations – hope, for me, is the best weapon we have in dark times.
All through my life I have found silver linings and there are so many I could share. But perhaps the first time I was really aware of the power of hope was when I failed my A-levels. I’d managed to secure a place at a university in York, to study drama, film and television, beating over 1,500 applicants to be offered one of 35 places. I sat my exams confident that an exciting future awaited me. I’d told everyone where I was headed and had spent hours dreaming of all the amazing things the next chapter of my life could hold.
And then, my results arrived. I had failed one A-level and my practical exam for drama had been severely marked by the visiting examiner. In that moment, everything fell apart. Everything I had hoped for, worked for, lost. In tears I called the university, hoping against hope that my successful audition would be enough to keep my place. They were very kind and understanding, but confirmed my worst fears.
I wanted to go to university – I was the first person in my family to be able to do so – and so I decided to enter the clearing system. I was accepted by a college of higher education in Cheltenham (now the University of Gloucestershire) to study for a Performance Art degree and while I was there I discovered filmmaking. I made art films and a computer animated kids’ feature and fell in love with the process. Years later, I decided to make vlogs as a published author when not many other writers were doing it and now I’m known for my vlogging. It’s a lovely positive that came out of a huge challenge (and of course a great degree!) You can find (and subscribe to) my vlogs at:
Thanks so much for reading this blog exclusive! For more, follow my Searching for a Silver Lining blog tour. I really hope you enjoy reading the story!

Miranda Dickinson has always had a head full of stories. From an early age she dreamed of writing a book that would make the heady heights of Kingswinford Library and today she is a bestselling author. She began to write in earnest when a friend gave her The World's Slowest PC, and has subsequently written the bestselling novelsFairytale of New YorkWelcome to My WorldIt Started With a KissWhen I Fall in LoveTake A Look At Me Now,I'll Take New York and A Parcel for Anna Browne. Miranda lives with her husband Bob and daughter Flo in Dudley.

Thank you so much to Miranda and Pan MacMillan for allowing me to be part of this fabulous blog tour - Make sure you check out the other amazing bloggers for more insights into Search for a Silver Lining!

No comments:

Post a Comment