Monday, 11 July 2016

Review | The Little Village Bakery (Honeybourne, Book 1) ~ Tilly Tennant

The Little Village Bakery
Honeybourne, Book 1.
Author: Tilly Tennant
Publisher: Bookouture
Published: June 2016

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery. 

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles. 

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular,Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention. 

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan. 

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

As many of you will know from my recent social media posts, I've been unwell and signed off work, which should be a great excuse to catch up with reading. However you may also recently know that my reading mojo disappeared. Putting all this together made Lozza's Book Corner a rather sad place.

I then picked up this rather gorgeous looking book by the talented Tilly Tennant. It gripped me immediately but the blasted pain meant that I was unable to read for long periods of time so it took me slightly longer than I believe it would have done on full health.

I love Tilly's writing style. It's easy going, light-hearted and has a great feel good factor, however I felt that The Little Village Bakery was slightly more gripping than the other books I have read from this author.
Right from the beginning, when the main character Millie moves to the Hampshire village of Honeybourne, we know that she is plagued with something awful from her past. The book kept the suspense going for a good 2/3's of the story whilst along the way Millie's past comes to haunt her.

Alongside Millie, there is a whole bunch of delightful characters, who each have equally good sub plots and I'm delighted that at the end of the book Tilly announced that she will be re-visiting them as I'd love to know how their lives have moved on from the drama!

What I loved about this book though is a real sense of community spirit. When Millie decided to up sticks from Millrise (Tilly fans will recognise this landmark from her previous work) and move to Honeybourne, she brought the run down bakery. Upon arriving she discovered that it needed much more work than she anticipated but the locals all rallyed round to help in anyway they could.

The Little Village Bakery is a gorgeous novel for summer, full with plenty of drama, laughs and happy endings.
Rating 5/5

No comments:

Post a Comment